Nail polish… A girl’s best friend

I have always LOVED nail polish! I am a little embarrassed to admit that I am a bit of a nail polish hoarder. Lets face it, times are hard right now and nail polish is a reasonably priced way to vamp up your look. Last year nail polish was a go to beauty item just like foundation was the go to beauty item in 2008 and how lipstick was the go to beauty item during the 30’s and 40’s.Plus a mani/pedi is one of the finishing touches to a brides look on her big day!

Today, lets talk about if it is worth it to go get you nails done, or if giving yourself your own mani/pedi for you wedding is a great way to save some money. 

Image

A couple of weeks ago, I conducted a little nail polish experiment.I was shopping at walmart after a long day. I needed a little pick me up, so I before I checked out, I went to look at the nail polish.I found a do it yourself gel nail polish kit, no UV light needed. I love a do it yourself project! I have been hearing about gel nail polish for the past year or so, but had never tried it. I HAD to try it.Plus, I could see how a bride to be wanting to stick to a budget would be tempted to try this. 

It took only minutes and looked great for about 5 hours.   My first reaction was that maybe I didn’t apply it right, so I went back to Walmart and got another color. This time, my nails looked good for maybe 8 hours.Don’t worry, I also had to buy a special remover specifically for this nail polish. At this point I had spent roughly 20 bucks…. I was not that impressed with what I thought would save money.For me this product didn’t work, so I went to the professionals.Image

After going to a nail salon and spending about $50 on a mani/ pedi (note: I only got the gel on my hands not my feet), I have to say, I LOVE gel nail polish!!! It is awesome! I recommend EVERYONE try it at least once, especially if you are a bride.

As a bride getting your nails done is a break away from what can be a pretty stressful time. I say make it a girls trip and invite some of your close friends. You can even try to make a beauty day of it. You can call your local cosmetics department and see if you and you friends can get your make up  and skin care done. Often times the cosmetic department can go to you by having an outsourcing event. I used to wok in a cosmetic department and I loved to do outsourcing event for my clients.With that said, I recommend that if you choose to have the make up artist go to you, plan on everyone buying at least two to three products.  I know for sure that Nordstroms is down to do outsourcing events, and you never know your local department store may offer this service as well. 

Thank you for reading this weeks beauty tip. Have a great evening!

XOX,

Nicole Ramirez

Stop by the Pretty Bride Shop anytime!

http://www.etsy.com/shop/PrettybrideShop

Leave a Reply

